Skip to main content
UNICEF Canada Close

Goal: 5,000 new supporters

Your email today can help us mobilize support around the world for the most urgent needs of children. Across the globe, children are living in desperate situations. They are facing issues like food insecurity, a lack of clean water, unsafe living conditions, and no access to medical care. Every voice counts, and we need yours.

John Nsabimana

John Nsabimana

John Nsabimana was born in Kigali, Rwanda. In 1994, when over one million Rwandan refugees fled from the Genocide and the terror in Rwanda into neighbouring countries, John escaped Rwanda and travelled to Uganda. He then spent the next 11 years of his life in a refugee camp in Uganda. He arrived in Canada in 2004 on a United World Scholarship and attended Lester B. Pearson United World College of the Pacific. John has completed his MPA at the University of Victoria.

While living in the refugee camp, John was able to see UNICEF in action in the field and the many life-saving services UNICEF provides for children in need and those in emergency situations. As such John has made UNICEF a priority in his life.

When asked about his plans for the future, John refers to the 10 year goal he wrote upon leaving Pearson College – John intends to work for UNICEF and help to make the world a place fit for children. Most recently, John completed an internship with UNICEF’s Child Protection office in New York City.

John attended the 24th annual UNICEF Water for Life Gala in Calgary as a keynote speaker, and will be attending the 25th annual Chefs for UNICEF Water for Life Gala in Halifax as a keynote speaker on April 26, 2017.

I would like to make a gift of:

Skip to main content
UNICEF Canada Close

Aidez-nous à sauver des vies en vous inscrivant

L’abonnement à notre infolettre signifie bien plus qu’une simple inscription à une autre liste d’envois de courriels. En vous y abonnant, vous contribuez à la lutte pour la survie de l’enfant. Vous ferez partie d’un effort mondial visant à protéger les enfants, en toutes circonstances.

Close

Recherche

J’aimerais faire un don :

John Nsabimana

UNICEF Canada is a humanitarian organization for children

John Nsabimana est né à Kigali, au Rwanda. En 1994, alors que plus d’un million de Rwandais et de Rwandaises affluaient vers les pays voisins pour échapper au génocide et à la terreur ambiante, John s’est enfui en Ouganda où il a passé onze ans dans un camp pour personnes réfugiées. Il est arrivé au Canada en 2004 et a obtenu une bourse d’études du United World College, puis s’est inscrit au collège Lester B. Pearson du Pacifique. John a récemment terminé son diplôme de maîtrise en administration des affaires à l’Université de Victoria.

Pendant son séjour dans le camp pour personnes réfugiées, John a pu observer le travail accompli par l’UNICEF sur le terrain et a constaté que l’organisme offre de nombreux services essentiels aux enfants démunis ou qui vivent une situation d’urgence. C’est alors qu’il a décidé que le travail de l’UNICEF devait être pour lui une priorité.

Lorsqu’on l’interroge sur ses projets d’avenir, John évoque l’objectif qu’il s’est promis d’atteindre après ses études au collège Pearson : appuyer l’UNICEF et contribuer à bâtir un monde digne des enfants. John a récemment effectué un stage au Bureau de la protection de l’enfant de l’UNICEF à New York.

John a participé en tant que conférencier d’honneur au 24e Gala l’eau pour la vie, un événement annuel pour l’UNICEF qui se tient à Calgary, et il participera, également en tant que conférencier d’honneur, au 25e dîner des chefs pour l’UNICEF à Halifax le 26 avril 2017.

-->