28th Annual UNICEF Water for Life Gala Calgary | UNICEF Canada: For Every Child Skip to main content

With not being able to gather in person this year, we have been reminiscing about our past Galas. We hope you will enjoy taking a look back at past Calgary Water for Life Gala videos.

COVID-19 Update

UNICEF Canada has made the difficult decision to cancel the UNICEF Water for Life Gala that was to take place in Calgary on October 3, 2020.

Given the COVID-19 pandemic and its economic impact, as well as Public Health recommendations for physical distancing measures, we know this is the right decision.

This virus is a painful reminder of the global challenges facing families and children around the world. UNICEF stays committed to doing whatever it takes to ensure every child, everywhere has the opportunity to lead a healthy and safe life.

Despite the cancellation of this year’s Water for Life Gala, we remain committed to raising funds to help ensure every child has access to safe water. Safe water is life-saving during a global pandemic, as hand hygiene is the front line of defense in the fight against the virus. As well, safe water reduces waterborne diseases and improves a child’s survival and development. Safe water from a local water source also means girls who miss school to collect water will have a chance at an education.



UNICEF Water Pump

A single water pump can improve the lives of 150 children in a local community and helps improve overall health and sanitation. The water pump is a gift that will continue to give for up to 10 years, supplying clean water for drinking, hand-washing, bathing and household. This is particularly important during a global pandemic as we know that hand hygiene is the life-saving front line of defense in the fight against the virus. Additionally, a local water source means girls who typically miss school to collect water will have a chance at an education and a brighter future. Clean water saves and transforms lives!

UNICEF Water for Life Gala Committee

Honorary Chair

Brett Herman – President & CEO, TORC Oil & Gas Ltd.

Patrons Council

Alister Cowan – Executive VP & CFO, Suncor Energy
Camille Devine McCreath – Actor, Host & Community Leader
Kent Ferguson - Co-Head Global Energy, RBC Capital Markets
Anthony Giuffre – CEO & Partner, Avenue Living Core Trust
Curtis Lester – Partner, KPMG
Jeff Lyons – National Leader, Oil & Gas, Deloitte
Tamara MacDonald – Business Development Executive & UNICEF 25th Team Member
Patrick Maguire – Vice Chair & Managing Partner, Bennett Jones LLP
John Nasser – President, Victory Majors Investments Corporation
Leigh Peters – Counsel, MLT Aikins LLP
Randy Pettipas – President & CEO, Global Public Affairs
Sue Riddell Rose – President & CEO, Perpetual Energy Inc.
Vik Saini – President, Take Flight Group
Geeta Sankappanavar – Co-Founder & President, Grafton Asset Management
Reynold Tetzlaff – National Energy Leader, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Peter Wallis – President & CEO, Peter Wallis Consulting
Penny Whitlock – Community Leader

UNICEF Water for Life Gala Committee

Andrea Gerencser – Gala Co-Chair
Hanita Simard – Gala Co-Chair
Tayo Adeleke
Erin Basarsky
Lauren Batiuk
Melissa Baylin
Laurel Boyle
Irene Buckland
John Conley
Cecile Dash
Diane Davidson – Auction Co-Chair
Kristen Evans
Susanne Fox
Claudio Gagliardi
Natalie Gillespie
Christina Giuffre
Heather Giuffre – Art Co-Chair
Kerrie Hale
Judy Hildebrandt
Heather Jarmain
Lisa Jarmain
Jacynthe Jagger – Auction Co-Chair
Oli Kiddell
Tess MacLeod
Nancy McCurdy – Art Co-Chair
David McKinnon
Dave McNear
Banafsheh Mehrazma
Jessica Mokos
Terry Ollivier
Melissa Ramsay
Julia Sande
Jennifer Sande
Tracey Smith
Nola Stuckert
Penny Whitlock

Sponsors – 28th Annual UNICEF Water for Life Online Auction

Humanitarian - $15,000+

Advocate - $10,000

Collaborator - $5,000

ARC Financial Corp.
Bank of America
Alister & Karla Cowan

Many Thanks To Our Appraisers

Avens Gallery
Canadian Art Gallery
Effusion Art Gallery & Glass Studio
Fallen Leaf Art Gallery
Fortune Fine Art
Gibson Fine Art
Lineham House Galleries
Masters Gallery Ltd.
Mountain Galleries at the Fairmont
Stephen Lowe Art Gallery
The Artym Gallery
Wallace Galleries Ltd