Board and Governance | UNICEF Canada: For Every Child Skip to main content

A diverse group of leaders from the medical, legal and business communities, the UNICEF Canada Board of Directors exercises overall responsibility for the policies, programs and direction of the organization and provides advice and counsel on a broad range of policy and operational matters.

The composition of the board, whose members are elected, is chosen to reflect a broad range of expertise, with all members having a strong and demonstrated commitment to the world’s most vulnerable children. Board members adhere to UNICEF Canada’s confidentiality and conflict of interest policies.


  • President and CEO: David Morley
  • Chair: Chris Simard
  • Vice-Chair: Mabel Wong
  • Treasurer: Mabel Wong

Board of Directors

Chris Simard (AB)
Board Chair

Chris practices law in Calgary as a senior partner at Bennett Jones LLP, a national business law firm. He writes and has spoken on numerous restructuring and energy law issues at conferences of the Canadian Energy Law Foundation, the Canadian Bar Association and the Annual Review of Insolvency Law. He is a member of the Insolvency Institute of Canada and the Chair of its Regional Membership Committee - Prairies. Chris holds Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Laws and Bachelor of Civil Law degrees.

Mabel Wong (ON)
Vice Chair and Treasurer

Mabel is a Managing Director at Brookfield Asset Management, a global asset manager with over $350 billion of assets, focused on real estate, infrastructure, renewable energy and private equity. Mabel joined Brookfield in 2007 and has held various senior finance positions during that time, and today is responsible for finance and corporate operations in the Brookfield Infrastructure Group. 


Helen Burstyn, C.M. (ON)

Helen has enjoyed a 40-year career in government, business, academia, broadcasting and community service. She dedicated much of her professional life to public service, including Chair of the Ontario Trillium Foundation and Senior Advisor to the Premier. Helen was invested as a Member of the Order of Canada in 2017 in recognition of her leadership of charitable and public institutions supporting arts and culture, education, health, and the environment.


Bita Cattelan (QC)

Bita is Vice President of Philanthropy for The Foundation WCPD, a boutique financial services firm dedicated to wealth creation, preservation and donation through comprehensive money management solutions, insurance products and specialized tax assisted investments. She is a Member of the Board of Directors of Les Grands Ballets Canadiens de Montréal as well as The McCord Museum Foundation and the Jewish General Hospital Foundation.


Linda Ezergailis (ON)

Linda Ezergailis is a Managing Director in the Institutional Equities Research group at TD Securities. Linda has been responsible for setting forth TDSI's investment recommendations about energy infrastructure publicly traded equities to clients since she joined the organization in 2003. She works with fixed income and other colleagues when formulating industry and company outlooks. 


Monika Federau (ON)

Monika is Senior Vice President and Chief Strategy Office for Intact Financial Corporation, Canada’s largest property and casualty insurance provider. Previously, Monika was based in Hong Kong for Manulife Financial where she was responsible for building the brand throughout Asia.


Katrina German (SK)

Katrina is an award-winning entrepreneur specializing in communications, technology and digital strategy. She is a seasoned executive, leader and strategist who has reached millions of people through digital storytelling and online media. Through her fifteen years in communications, she has worn many hats; Tech start-up CEO, fundraiser, digital strategist, community manager, writer, television producer and host, video editor, speaker, and trainer.


Heidi Henschel (ON)

Heidi is a philanthropist and leadership volunteer, with a focus on education and mental health. She established the Fairmont Foundation in 2013 to help individuals and groups in her hometown of Hamilton and community groups in the Waterloo Region overcome obstacles and live fuller, healthier lives. Heidi took part in The Philanthropy Workshop, a strategic philanthropy course, in 2014-2015.


Jamie Loughery (NS)

Jamie is BMO Financial Group’s Regional President for Atlantic Canada. Based in Halifax, he leads the Private Wealth Management business across the Atlantic Provinces. Jamie joined BMO in 2008 as Head of Practice Management at BMO Nesbitt Burns.


James McPhedran (ON)

James McPhedran is a Financial Services Executive and Board Director. Previously, James spent 22 years at Scotiabank, including his most recent role as Executive Vice President, Canadian Banking. James’ other Scotiabank roles included Executive Vice President, Retail Distribution, Canadian Banking, Senior Vice President, Ontario Region, Managing Director and Head of Scotia Private Client Group, and a range of roles across Marketing, Financial and Estate Planning, and Insurance.


Joane Mui (ON)

Joane is a Partner at KPMG, with over thirteen years of experience working with and specializing in the not-for-profit and public sector. Joane is both a Canadian and U.S. designated CPA. She is passionate about volunteering in the community and is actively involved in different capacities. In addition to her role as a Board member of UNICEF Canada, Joane is also a guest lecturer at York University and the University of Toronto.


Katrin (Kathy) Nakashima (QC)

Kathy is Chair of the Board of Directors of the Montreal Children’s Hospital Foundation, Co-Chair of its Investment Committee, and member of the Executive, Governance, and Nomination Committees. In 2017, she served as Interim President. She sits on the Hospital’s Council for Services to Children and Adolescents and its Executive Committee. 


David Robertson (BC)

David was born and raised in Edinburgh, Scotland. After completing his M.A.(Hons) at the University of Aberdeen and his teaching degree (P.G.C.E.) from Loughborough University, in England, he began his teaching career in 1978. A lifelong sportsman, David was a member of the Scottish National rugby squad. He and his family emigrated to Vancouver Island in 1986, becoming proud Canadians shortly after.


Geeta Sankappanavar (AB)

Geeta is the Co-Founder and President of Grafton Asset Management, a Calgary-based energy investment firm with ~$1B in capital under management, focused on investing at the asset level in oil and gas and infrastructure that supports the intermittency of renewable energy. Prior to co-founding Grafton Asset Management, Geeta worked at New Vernon Capital, was previously Vice President, Head of Strategic Global Outsourcing for Cambridge Solutions, and was a founding partner at Marincorp Solutions and IRI.