Simu Liu | UNICEF Canada: For Every Child Skip to main content
Simu Liu

Born in Harbin, China, Simu Liu immigrated to Canada at the age of 5. He grew up in Ontario, Canada, and after graduating university, worked briefly as an accountant, before deciding to pursue acting.

Simu is perhaps best known in Canada for his performance as Jung Kim in the award-winning CBC Television series Kim’s Convenience – based on the Toronto Theatre Critics award-winning play of the same name. He has also received ACTRA Awards and Canadian Screen Awards nominations for his work in the series Blood and Water, in addition to appearing in other notable series including Orphan Black, The Expanse, and Taken.

In 2021, Simu will join the Marvel Cinematic Universe as Marvel’s first Asian superhero with the film Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings.

“I am so excited to partner with UNICEF Canada as their newest Ambassador, to help shed a light on children in need both in Canada and around the world. I believe in every child’s right to a childhood and am proud to lend my voice and share my experiences to help in any way that I can,” says Liu. “UNICEF Canada is unparalleled when it comes to impacting global change and helping the most vulnerable children in the hardest to reach places and I am honoured to be working with them.”

Simu Liu | UNICEF Canada: For Every Child Skip to main content
Simu Liu

Né à Harbin, en Chine, Simu Liu a immigré au Canada à l’âge de cinq ans. Il a grandi en Ontario, au Canada, et après ses études universitaires, Simu a brièvement travaillé comme comptable avant de décider de devenir acteur.

Simu est probablement mieux connu au Canada pour son rôle de Jung Kim dans la série primée de CBC Television Kim’s Convenience, basée sur la pièce de théâtre du même nom, lauréate d’un prix du Toronto Theatre Critics. Il a également été mis en nomination pour un prix ACTRA et un prix Écrans canadiens pour son travail dans la série Blood and Water, et on a aussi pu le voir dans d’autres séries connues telles que Orphan Black, The Expanse et Taken.

En 2021, Simu se joindra à l’univers cinématographique de Marvel en tant que premier superhéros asiatique dans le film Shang-Chi et la Légende des Dix Anneaux.

« Je suis très heureux de m’associer à UNICEF Canada en tant que nouvel ambassadeur afin de contribuer à sensibiliser les gens à la situation des enfants dans le besoin au Canada et dans le reste du monde. Je crois que chaque enfant a le droit d’avoir une enfance et je suis fier de prêter ma voix et de raconter mes expériences pour apporter mon aide de toutes les façons possibles, explique Simu. UNICEF Canada fait un travail remarquable pour mettre en place des changements planétaires et aider les enfants les plus vulnérables vivant dans les endroits les plus reculés, et je suis honoré de travailler avec l’organisme ».